Home Catch Central Florida

2012 Polk County All Sports Awards to be Aired on Bright House Sports Network

Posted on June 29th, 2012 by

Categories: General, Upcoming

It was a great evening as Polk County Sports Marketing and The Ledger honored Polk County’s sports community Tuesday at the 2012 Polk County All Sports Awards.

Congratulations to all 2012 PCASA winners including these category winners:

Professional Athlete of the Year: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
Bernie Little Sports Executive Award: Mike Lapan, the Lakeland Center
Commissioner’s Award for Perseverance in Sports: Hunter Ratcliffe, Lake Region High School
Male Amateur Athlete of the Year: Brandon Jorge, Lake Gibson High School
Female Amateur Athlete of the Year: Emily Brauckmuller, Auburndale High School
Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year: Ontarrio McCalebb, Auburn University
Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year: Octavious Freeman, University of Central Florida
Male Team of the Year: Lake Wales High School Basketball
Female Team of the Year: Bartow High School Softball
Female Collegiate Team of the Year: Florida Southern College Golf Team
Male Collegiate Team of the Year: Polk State College Baseball

The 2012 Hall of Fame inductees included former Florida Southern Baseball Coach and New York Yankees scout Joe Arnold; Head Football coach of Frostproof High School for 36 years, and three-time Florida Athletic Coaches Association Coach of the Year, Farris Brannen; Florida Southern College basketball standout John EbelingDoug Gordin, who led Florida Southern College to five NCAA Division II Championships as their Head Golf Coach made up the 2012 Hall of Fame class along with Contributor Hoyt Barnett.

Award winners, attendees and those who were not able to be there, be sure to schedule your DVR’s to record or mark your calendars to watch the event  as it unfolded!

Bright House Sports Network was there for all the excitement, and will broadcast the event with three airings on Bright House channel 47 or HD 1147 on July 6 at 7:00 p.m., July 7 at 12:00 p.m. and July 8 at 4:00 p.m.


The Polk County All Sports Awards and Hall of Fame induction ceremony is a partnership between The Ledger and Polk County Sports Marketing that began in 2000.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply